Alien: Covenant Review (2017)

  • Added:  21 day ago
  • Ridley Scott takes the Alien franchise back to its horror roots while finally tackling some Prometheus' lingering questions. Starring Katherine Waterston, Michael Fassbender, James Franco, Noomi Rapace, and Guy Pearce.

    Alien: Covenant (2017) - Trailer #2
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eK03cXaGVBE

    Alien: Covenant (2017) - Red Band Trailer #1
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYINUbHWQcI

    Alien: Covenant's Space Mission Revealed
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esK9MpOsFB0

    This Xenomorph Queen from Aliens is Beautiful - IGN Unboxing
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDMNCCpQN5Y

    ------------------------------­----
    Follow IGN for more!
    ------------------------------­----

    YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/user/ignentertainment?sub_confirmation=1
    IGN OFFICIAL APP: http://www.ign.com/mobile
    FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/ign
    TWITTER: https://twitter.com/ign
    INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/igndotcom/?hl=en
    WEBSITE: http://www.ign.com/
    GOOGLE+: https://plus.google.com/+IGN

    #ign #aliencovenant
  • Video CategoriesEntertainment
  • Runtime: 4:4
  • Tags for this video:  IGN  movie  Review  Horror  Sci-Fi  Alien: Covenant  20th Century Fox  Scott Free Productions  ign movie reviews  movie reviews  top videos  alien covenant review  alien covenant trailer  

Comments: 1 377

  • bibby42
    bibby42 18 hours ago

    Alien: Covenant. Feels like a recycled version of Alien/ Prometheus. We've already seen those movies, and it feels like we are just watching the same story over and over again. You see pretty much everything coming, no surprises at all, really. I give it a 4.5/ 10. And a 4.5 is probably too high.

  • locke2517
    locke2517 1 day ago

    "I'll do the fingering" -david

  • Adnan Hajizada
    Adnan Hajizada 1 day ago

    Are you serious? This was a horrible movie. Didn't satisfy anything.

  • dh198423
    dh198423 1 day ago

    Any idea why they had a Medpod in Prometheus but only gloves in Covenant? Why would big Peter W not make that an necessity on all his ships!? Colonising or not he never gave Covenant a good chance.

  • Andrew Forbes
    Andrew Forbes 1 day ago

    http://screeningspectacles.blogspot.com/2017/05/alien-covenant.html

  • Street S W A T
    Street S W A T 2 days ago

    enjoy the backstory.... it's not a great horror or scary film much like the Prometheus but it's still really compelling to learn the backstory on how they were created. at least that's how I view the film....

  • Isaiah Buelna
    Isaiah Buelna 2 days ago

    I remember when I was young I had watched the 1st alien and when I would hiccup I thought I had a chest burster inside of me

  • Captain's Corner
    Captain's Corner 2 days ago

    Hello everyone! I review films and books that I feel are underrated and go a little under the radar. Despite Alien covenant being a huge success financially, it is seen as a strong instalment in the franchise but not much else by most. I feel it is as strong and possibly one day as iconic as the first two alien films. If you are interested in quite a different take on this movie then please take a look at my channel and tell me what you think.

  • sampson ireman
    sampson ireman 3 days ago

    just a bad movie.

  • cherok
    cherok 4 days ago

    He says" "Scott heard the screams of alien fans leaving the theatre" and proceeds to tear Prometheus apart, but then says that this movie builds off of the Alien mythology...

    ...Which wouldn't exist if Prometheus didn't set it up.

    What a dumb review.

  • Jesus Christ
    Jesus Christ 4 days ago

    This is the 2nd worst movie I have ever watched I just watched it yesterday , I would give it 2.5 it just made me wish I was at home sleeping right now

  • Krixig
    Krixig 4 days ago

    After growing up with Sigourney's stint of Alien films (which isnt to say they werent some of my favorite films) its super refreshing to see the Alien universe being developed beyond simply dumping a xeno in a new locale for each installment. And while theres a pretty big demographic thats miffed that Predators are seemingly slashed from this narrative, Im glad. Predators dont add anything to the Giger-esque currents of these films and the AvP series has never been canon - quite the opposite, really, as Scott hates them being muddled together. Keep the Engineers, androids, and horror bugs coming and Im happy.

  • James Ballantine
    James Ballantine 4 days ago

    I'm more concerned about what happened to the black guy?! He just straight up vanished. There wasn't any conformation that he die and at the end they there two survivors, not three. Did he just straight up vanished!!

  • Chris Heim
    Chris Heim 4 days ago

    this movie had arguably the dumbest characters in the whole series, even worse than the scientists in Prometheus

  • Eric Nastav
    Eric Nastav 4 days ago

    I enjoyed Prometheus. But some of the writing was just so bad. They both have some serious flaws regarding exposing oneself to an alien planet atmosphere. But Covenant was so much more interesting and thought provoking. I enjoyed the homage to Blade Runner and the subtle reference to Lawrence of Arabia. Spoilers! Yes, it was predictable that David would mimic Walter. They showed the knife while they were fighting and never resolved it . Loved seeing the engineer city bombed...

  • Carl T. Jenkins
    Carl T. Jenkins 5 days ago

    Alien Covenant|| (2017) || F u l l M o v i e|| AVAILABLE ONLINE - Movie ??
    Watch Now? plus.google.com/104361613882767788297/posts/XiTiGkyoAPb

  • Dashtag Mania
    Dashtag Mania 5 days ago

    I loved this movie! It was fun!

  • Ian H
    Ian H 5 days ago

    Ridley is great at visuals, far more often and consistently than he is with good story.
    And making another $200M movie based upon fan disappointment is the worst kind of fan service.

  • utah wanderlust700
    utah wanderlust700 5 days ago

    I think it would have made the xenomorphs scarier if they were natural, evolved creatures from some backwater planet that Ripley hoped mankind would never find. The engineers stumbled upon the planet and tried to harvest them for weapons, but managed to eradicate themselves instead. Then fast forward a couple hundred years after Aliens, and we finally do find the xenomorphs home planet, and the question is, do they survive, or do we?
    This engineer/people/black goo/parasitic mutation direction is just not as scary, nor is it interesting. Its basically just a modern Frankenstein twist of a lab experiment gone wrong. A naturally occuring monster from the black silence of space is WAY more frightening. And it's even possible that it could actually happen sometime in the future. We find a way to travel to the closest planet only to find something we wish we'd never found!

  • Jesse Nieminen
    Jesse Nieminen 6 days ago

    Just saw it, I did not like it at all.

  • Eddie Fisher
    Eddie Fisher 6 days ago

    █ █ █ ▋▋best movie hitz▋▋█ █ █
    ►►►►►►►►►alien covenant (2017)
    https://plus.google.com/u/0/116191457764233084742/posts/iKSaKPQzqAP

    ♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦movie chanel♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

  • Mr Cookiez
    Mr Cookiez 6 days ago

    Daniels vs xenomorph on the cargo ship was legit.

  • 123JoeDeee
    123JoeDeee 6 days ago

    I give it -99.9/10 for too much blood, gore and aliens - ign

  • Bryce Williams
    Bryce Williams 6 days ago

    The comments are cancerous, may you tread on your own terms

  • BIGDICKBOOTYEATER
    BIGDICKBOOTYEATER 6 days ago

    Everyone dies

  • jayleigh Awesomesauce

    I saw it last night, it was like they took the ideas proposed in Prometheus, and then force fed them through the alien formula in the original. There are things to like about the movie, but from a fanboy perspective this is nothing more than an average thriller movie based around the Alien franchise. Nothing special, my rating is more like 6/10. My main criticism of the movie is that it is full of cliche and ideas that we have already seen played out in this franchise. Very unoriginal storytelling, but good acting, action, and worth watching for fans of this kind of thing.

  • M Tunes
    M Tunes 7 days ago

    7:35 *Alien: Covenant* avaiIabIe *N0W* !!!

    [ plus.google.com/u/0/+JosephDerrulo/posts/jomqGRByJ9G ]

  • Frankie boi Rizzo
    Frankie boi Rizzo 7 days ago

    I should have known the aliens would be CGI...I will watch it but that already lowers my expectations pretty low.

  • Emma Mae
    Emma Mae 7 days ago

    The crew is lured into what appears to be a better site for their new home until discovering a muslim infestation shortly after landing.

  • SplatCommandPB
    SplatCommandPB 7 days ago

    Anyone else notice the huge plot holes with this movie and how it ties into the entire Alien continuity?

  • Sticky Granada
    Sticky Granada 7 days ago

    Was not impressed at all with this movie!!

  • jones jeffrey
    jones jeffrey 7 days ago

    quite frankly the worst alien movie ever.even resurrection was better ! didn't even feel like a alien movie.movie should of been called david covenant with aliens !!

  • NewNeoMasterExtreme

    I honestly think Prometheus was better than Covenant. Covenant was way too predictable and scattershot. BUT to be fair its not the worst movie in the series. Alien: Resurrection still holds that crown.

  • Shadow Broker
    Shadow Broker 7 days ago

    Prometheus was great, Alien Covenant was a letdown.

  • Paul R
    Paul R 7 days ago

    Just saw the movie and I think this is a pretty reasonable review.

  • Borpheus Maximus
    Borpheus Maximus 7 days ago

    Don't be surprised if the next Alien movie has Walter come back to try and save Daniels from evil David.

  • Tr00peroid
    Tr00peroid 7 days ago

    A lot of those clips weren't in the movie.

  • Ultra HD
    Ultra HD 7 days ago

    14:46 👽 *ALIEN: COVENANT* M0VIE ( plus.google.com/u/0/+M0VIESN0W/posts/BauXbZ46Qbb )

  • Joshua Wheeler
    Joshua Wheeler 8 days ago

    This movie was highly predictable and I felt it ended too soon even with how long it was

  • STUDIO MOVIES 2017
    STUDIO MOVIES 2017 8 days ago

    Alien Covenant Movie
    ( https://plus.google.com/110239040664016543275/posts/YfJhX9cj1Su

  • MGC
    MGC 8 days ago

    Nice review I did one on my channel aswell check it out

  • James Shuker
    James Shuker 8 days ago

    Personally, I'd give a 10. The story is brilliant

  • David Jackson
    David Jackson 8 days ago

    stop just stop

  • spzenny
    spzenny 8 days ago

    I think this was a fair score. I'd give it a 7.5 and I'm a huge fan of Alien and the direction of the new films.

  • Sebi Berceanu
    Sebi Berceanu 8 days ago

    I like Prometheus, but this mess o a movie seems rushed, unpolished and full of potholes... And why not 3D???

  • Mohammad Khan
    Mohammad Khan 8 days ago

    I just saw this movie and thought it was even worse than Prometheus.

  • The Fiddler
    The Fiddler 8 days ago

    pls help me understand. why does every ship needs atleast one android?
    and why do they always have hidden agendas?
    and why david and walter has to be identical? why not create another android who's different?

  • SouthernOcean Blue
    SouthernOcean Blue 8 days ago

    I must have watched a different movie as I was bored from the opening scene and did not recover from the cliches that followed. When are directors going to treat us to not using the old I-am-ust-going- off-on-my-own-for-a-wander-even-though-there-is-a-killer-alien-picking-off-my-mates trope? Duh. As for deepening the mystery from Prometheus, It was poorly explained (really just thrown away) because this film was clearly just a filler for the next one. Ridley Scott did a good job on Prometheus but I feel he dropped the ball big time on Covenant. Save yourself the ticket price and rewatch Aliens instead.

  • TheShah
    TheShah 8 days ago

    exactly my thoughts

  • JABO
    JABO 8 days ago

    If you want your characters, who never get to know and know they will die, that aren't morons, then save your money. This movie is worse than Prometheus.

  • ElricBro
    ElricBro 8 days ago

    Alien covenant was trash

  • omfgitzalex
    omfgitzalex 8 days ago

    ign- too much alien, too much isolation. .. 7.3

  • robert papa
    robert papa 9 days ago

    SPOILER






    David is the main villain and shaw was killed by him

  • Chris G
    Chris G 9 days ago

    The movie is now called David

  • Deanna Kupres
    Deanna Kupres 9 days ago

    8/10. entertaining as hell. only questions left are; why did the engineers plan to kill life on earth in the first place, what exactly went wrong on the instillation before they could get to earth,, and how does WAYLAND corp figure out about the xeno's creation

  • Dylan Humphrey
    Dylan Humphrey 9 days ago

    Just cut out the first half hour and add more Fassbender.

  • Goran bev
    Goran bev 9 days ago

    Fails to do anything that the predecessors do....

  • Piotr Szewczyk
    Piotr Szewczyk 10 days ago

    How long lasts a journey from Earth to planet from Alien Covenant? Crew of Covenant knew about Prometheus. I'm wondering is it possible?

  • fahad f khan
    fahad f khan 10 days ago

    After Aliens (1979), Covenant was very likely the "scarier" of the Alien movies that followed. Still, it does not compare, or deserve to be compared to the original movie, which is one the best horror movies ever made. "Alien" sits with "Jaws", while Covenant sits with "Deep Blue Sea" (harsh, but i needed a "shark" movie). Not a bad movie, good seeing a xenomorph again, been 10 years since we saw one. Hugs!!

  • DIL ON
    DIL ON 10 days ago

    This movie was a rehash of all the Other alien movies =
    Lack of ideas

  • jells31
    jells31 10 days ago

    I saw this movie yesterday. it was enjoyable overall but ultimately underwhelmed me.. SPOILERALERT
    plus:
    - Another GREAT michael fassbender as the android(s) and is by far the best character and best point of the movie
    - some great visuals
    - lore deepening
    - some truly gory scenes
    - overall design of engineer planet, lore
    - ending
    cons :
    - truly dissapointing characters. all cliche, all underwritten. i didnt care for any of them except david which is saying much
    - Elizabeth shaw and david prometheus plot outcome ( she is not a second alive in this movie although trailers showed otherwise!) how totally dissapointing, especially after all the buildup in prometheus.
    - Xenomorph origin reveal
    - Too much cgi aliens, no mystery left anymore..

    Hate to say that this had alot of potential for engineer backstory, yet gave us another "deserted planet survival" and no, not a single living engineer scene..

  • luigio380
    luigio380 10 days ago

    Alien covernant has the dumbest characters you've ever seen in an alien movie

  • Arsenal K
    Arsenal K 11 days ago

    David is the creator of the aliens and killed Elizabeth shaw.

  • GangGreen_714
    GangGreen_714 11 days ago

    Wish they continued the story of Prometheus 😏 I liked the mystery and idea of where human comes from and other intelligent life on other planets .
    I didn't want an Alien killing a crew movie seen that a million times.
    I'm still gonna go watch it tho 😩😩😩

  • Pablo Perez
    Pablo Perez 11 days ago

    So what happened to the predators fighting the xenomorphs ?

  • MOVflex
    MOVflex 11 days ago

    🔵 *ALIEN COVENANT* || M0VIE || ( plus.google.com/u/0/+M0VIESN0W/posts/BauXbZ46Qbb )

  • Zod of Heaven
    Zod of Heaven 11 days ago

    'Somewhat Cliched'? It's sci-fi about alien organisms based on previous movies, what the hell do you want?

    The 7.3 rating is inaccurate. This is an 8.2 minimum, for cynics. I was so impressed that I'd give it an 8.7, compared to the previous effort, which I would rate as 6.0 at best.

    Covenant is a Great movie, and rekindled my love of the story. Go see it on the big screen. I was delighted, except for having to wait an hour to see the Alien(s)?

  • Tristan Turne
    Tristan Turne 11 days ago

    Does anyone else understand why there's a homosexual couple on the covenant? Like it's a colonial effort, why would you send a couple that can't reproduce?

    • Deanna Kupres
      Deanna Kupres 9 days ago

      they're the crew, not normal colonists passengers. they have jobs that relate to operating the ship and running the operation. 2000 people are in cryo-sleep, while a few crew members are woken up early to do maintenance on the ship. The reason the crew is couples as well is because it's a one way trip, so the people who sign up, even the crew, plan to start some sort of family.


  • douglasmlinder
    douglasmlinder 11 days ago

    Shaw dies before the movie, david creates the alien

  • mbarmy uk
    mbarmy uk 12 days ago

    "game over man, game over"!

  • panQsia
    panQsia 12 days ago

    total bullshit! that movie is the most not logic and stupid one from all of them... yes the idea for reveling from where alien came is satysfying but rest? there are some many questions and non logical behavior of characters and plof that I would like to forget that I saw this movie. I like to think over it like only a idea for alien origins, without whole panic teenage slasher stupid expedition (without helmets, so irrational in behavior...)

  • juzekzjeb
    juzekzjeb 12 days ago

    8,3 lemings watching that shit srsly pps get a brain. im just here cuz i watched alien yesterday and see review 7.3 LOL this "CUMpany" or something want to be funny ? or just get more lemings

  • Zac Mayes
    Zac Mayes 12 days ago

    this movie is a 8-9/10 movie hands down.

  • Serna Macfarlan
    Serna Macfarlan 12 days ago

    Alien: Covenant 2017 [HD] Movie https://plus.google.com/+SiskaMirandaLaos/posts/csPPrCY4xxY

  • ElDuderino
    ElDuderino 12 days ago

    "and like Prometheus, it provides satisfying answers" LMAO

  • Jonny Cat
    Jonny Cat 12 days ago

    So excited about this movie

  • Steve Jobs
    Steve Jobs 13 days ago

    11:56 *ALIEN: Covenant FuII~Movie* plus.google.com/100741015616603593765/posts/3XRxDAQV3S1

  • Lucas Alcaraz
    Lucas Alcaraz 13 days ago

    if the zombie guy in Prometheus had some alien attributes like he was supposed to have then everything would make more sense

  • Sevsity
    Sevsity 13 days ago

    Prometheus was better than Covenant imo

  • Denis Churilov
    Denis Churilov 13 days ago

    Saw the movie yesterday. It's much, much better than Prometheus.

    The story is more coherent now and it doesn't feel like a cheap slasher movie about scientists who act like dumb teenagers anymore. Well, not to the same extent. The movie still suffers from the main characters' stupidity. Like, you don't risk the entire colonial mission with 2000+ people onboard when you suddenly discover a new planet you haven't seen before. You don't send a human expedition to an unknown space vehicle site before sending drones/robots to investigate first (especially if you already have a freaking synth in your team!). You don't interact with unknown extraterrestrial life forms (be it wheat, grass, or some eggs on the ground) without wearing a full hazmat suit. You don't just leave someone in a medbay without supervision after they've been facehugged! And so on.

    So, yeah, similar issue here - a team of highly trained scientists and engineers who are in charge of a huge multi-trillion dollar project act like dumb teenagers from B-grade horror/slasher movies. That makes it hard to take the film seriously. Even though it has some pretty interesting philosophical themes and discussion points overall, some plot elements just mess it all up.

    It's not as bad as Prometheus, though.

    The visuals, the atmosphere, and all - fantastic.

    Overall, much better than average.

    7/10.

  • Dimitry Shendrik
    Dimitry Shendrik 13 days ago

    I was hoping to see something hinted in Prometheus ending. New world, engineers, something fresh, but apparently they also missed the right planet and landed in Jurassic Park. Nice forest scenery, but Aliens live on uninhabitable planets like LV243, not hiking trails. I hope it's not all cgi like some people say

  • superbeedge
    superbeedge 13 days ago

    This film was boring.

  • Sam Cameron-Berko
    Sam Cameron-Berko 14 days ago

    Saw film yesterday. To many stupid decisions made by crew for sake of 'suspense'. Really disappointed!

  • severdnerv
    severdnerv 14 days ago

    Film was shite...... Strong characters my arse.

  • K OB
    K OB 14 days ago

    Riddle Scott helped me get over my Prometheus hangover

  • Tremor Voorhees
    Tremor Voorhees 14 days ago

    now it's an 8.5/10 is it a joke? no

  • Bhushan Bailie
    Bhushan Bailie 14 days ago

    it barley answers anything, they still don't meet the engineers

    • Bhushan Bailie
      Bhushan Bailie 7 days ago

      yeah exactly


    • WoodBlock707
      WoodBlock707 7 days ago

      Bhushan Bailie you say barely and I say it didn't answer any questions.


  • bobby fagan
    bobby fagan 14 days ago

    Prometheus was better

  • Marcel AKA E.T.
    Marcel AKA E.T. 14 days ago

    7.3 IGN? ...Really ? this is 0 out of 10. i really need to stop watching you guys because I disagree with your review 10 out of 10 times!

  • ViteMan Zam
    ViteMan Zam 14 days ago

    I feel like the bad sentiment directed at Prometheus is simply because people were mislead by it's marketing as an 'Alien prequel'.
    I watched it for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and found it an enjoyable sci-fi movie that successfully sets the scene for Covenant, which I loved.

  • Łukasz Żelazek
    Łukasz Żelazek 14 days ago

    The movie was really dissapointing. It seems poorely written and montaged. A lot of key scenes from the trailers are missing, e.g. Shaw and David conversation.

    The naiveness of characters was very immersion breaking. People who just saw their friends beeing mauled by aliens decide to stray away from the group because "they want to wash themselves", "they want to see what alien caring robot has in its dark basement". Even a 2-3 y/o child isn`t as naive as the "scientists and engineers" in this movie.

    I would like to see the movie where the characters take all he necessary safety precautions and aliens still manage to get them despite of all that work. It would make me to care more about characters and pity their death instead of laughing at their goofyness.

  • Vidmar Simic
    Vidmar Simic 14 days ago

    I couldn't believe that David betrayed human. I think he was a robot that was out of control. Why did he do that? Even in promethous he was enemy of humans

  • Hawken Valhalla
    Hawken Valhalla 14 days ago

    I'm a die hard fan of the franchise but I felt a little disappointed leaving the cinema. I got the answers I was looking for, but the ending act of the movie felt quite rushed. The film wasn't scary at all either, but maybe I'm just spoiled by the tension and fear Alien Isolation managed to capture. There was one shot at the end where the alien slowly walks into the terraforming bay on 2 legs towering above everything that really took me to a place I wanted to be in more during the last half of the movie, but it all felt rushed. I wasn't super satisfied with the ending either, it was quite predictable.

  • Jack Waters
    Jack Waters 14 days ago

    This film at least deserves a 8/10 and you give to a low 7, that ridiculous in my eyes

  • CL 98
    CL 98 14 days ago

    Really liked Prometheus, hated Covenant

  • Universal Movie
    Universal Movie 14 days ago

    Alien Covenant Movie
    Watch : https://plus.google.com/112456060561825870383/posts/16JD3EEtQD8?hl=id?

    • Universal Movie
      Universal Movie 11 days ago

      (UNIVERSAL PICTURE) Alien Covenant Full Movie : https://plus.google.com/104219225468243026931/posts/G2Z3npPytDU


    • Universal Movie
      Universal Movie 14 days ago

      nice


  • Thomas boothman
    Thomas boothman 14 days ago

    tbh it was a pretty underwhelming movie, David is definitely the best and most interesting part and they've set up the next one nicely, imo the neomorphs were so much better than the xenomorphs which is good and bad

  • Glenn John
    Glenn John 14 days ago

    so does this new Canon nullify predators gladiator like hunting and combating the xenomorphs for warrior baptism?

  • Mirror Neurons
    Mirror Neurons 14 days ago

    Verdict: 4/10.

  • neoknux009
    neoknux009 14 days ago

    alien covenant didnt reveal anything new to the alien universe. it was all cliche and i thought prometheus was better.

Analyse website