ALIEN: COVENANT MOVIE REVIEW

  • Added:  1 month ago
  • Mark and Kristian give you their review for one of the years most anticipated films, 'Alien Covenant.'

    CHECK OUT LOOT CRATE: lootcrate.com/schmoes
    *** Save 10% with Promo Code “SCHMOES” ***

    GET US ON ITUNES: http://apple.co/1P95eks
    SUBSCRIBE TO SCHMOES KNOW: http://bit.ly/1NaiRAS
    SUBSCRIBE TO COLLIDER: http://bit.ly/1NaACl4
    JOIN SCHMOEVILLE: http://bit.ly/2l7vgAv
    CHECK OUT SCHMOES KNOW T-SHIRTS: http://shrsl.com/?~7vu5
    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/schmoesknow
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/schmoesknow
    Tickets to Mark's stand-up tour: www.markellislive.com

    Follow Kristian: http://www.twitter.com/KristianHarloff
    Follow Mark: http://www.twitter.com/MarkEllisLive

    Cool Blast - Disco Ultralounge by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)
    Source: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100281
    Artist: http://incompetech.com/
  • Video CategoriesFilm & Animation
  • Runtime: 5:24
  • Tags for this video:  schmoes  know  movies  alien covenant  movie review  mark ellis  kristian harloff  horror  sci fi  michael fassbender  katherine waterston  danny mcbride  alien  aliens  xenomorph  lv 426  monsters  creatures  ridley scott  action  space  

Comments: 485

  • DUFMAN123
    DUFMAN123 7 days ago

    Man this film was disappointing. Poorly written with characters who repeatedly make horrendous and frankly amateurish decisions. There were so many tropes worked in, it felt really lazy and I was bored. Admittedly Fassbender was incredible and almost saved the film, almost.

  • Teddy Keys
    Teddy Keys 14 days ago

    how can you guys forget that the aliens came from an alien queen the Queen alien lays the eggs which produced facehuggers Michael Fassbender is now all of a sudden the Queen alien that he made the aliens this is crazy this movie is stupid how can you forget about the Queen alien which is the big star of the alien franchise

  • Zothanzuala Chhangte

    Im a huge fan of this guys and still am but I just saw this movie and got my heart broken.. Everything was a mess.. 😞😞

  • ConcreteSurfer420
    ConcreteSurfer420 26 days ago

    Danny Mcbride is from Statesboro Georgia

  • Movie Review Bros
    Movie Review Bros 27 days ago

    David: "I sat in a cave and invented a new species, while artists lead and hacks ask for a show of hands."

  • Space Tackle
    Space Tackle 28 days ago

    This movie was atrocious. I couldn't disagree with you both more. This was not a return to form or really even an Alien movie (at least not what makes an alien movie good) Yes it does HAVE the alien in it, but that's as far as I would go calling it an actual alien movie. Nothing about what made either aliens or alien great, is here. None of the horror, none of the suspense, none of the awe or mystery. It felt like a transformer movie. The CGI alien was HORRIBLE.

  • aaron042671
    aaron042671 28 days ago

    71 percent is high. This is a 35% at best

  • dloverise
    dloverise 28 days ago

    Terrible film, terrible review.

  • JB Jacobs
    JB Jacobs 29 days ago

    I really really really wished Predator showed up.

  • Darth Sibistine
    Darth Sibistine 1 month ago

    This movie is garbage

  • Kawshik Baral
    Kawshik Baral 1 month ago

    this movie wasn't good at all

  • Voeris
    Voeris 1 month ago

    lovely editing Cobbster, enjoyed the pop ins and the alien font for Daniels's actor name. tres bien 👌

  • ArmyGuns89
    ArmyGuns89 1 month ago

    David is a motherfucker.

  • Andrew Forbes
    Andrew Forbes 1 month ago

    http://screeningspectacles.blogspot.com/2017/05/alien-covenant.html

  • hmreiter74
    hmreiter74 1 month ago

    just saw it last night. hated it literally was falling asleep during it. really liked Prometheus. give it 10%. ruining this franchise.

  • Jeneral Jax 29
    Jeneral Jax 29 1 month ago

    Lmao at Kristian doing the Ashley Mova patented shoulder shimmy "happy monday guys" hahaha

  • StellarLeader
    StellarLeader 1 month ago

    I didn't like Prometheus at all. I liked Alien Covenant even less

  • Jackson Davis
    Jackson Davis 1 month ago

    Kristian gave it a 71% which is Alien covenant's exact score on rotten tomatoes.

  • TRACER BAE
    TRACER BAE 1 month ago

    I loved it up till the ending. trash ass ending

  • tinwoods
    tinwoods 1 month ago

    Just watched it. No one clapped. It was just an Alien trope-fest produced very well.

  • Tobey Starburst
    Tobey Starburst 1 month ago

    Loved this movie because it was so scary and depressing.

  • eric m
    eric m 1 month ago

    one of the worst films ever. weak character development. do you even know or care about the people that died. super predictable. from the first 5 mins you knew the ending. pathetic explanation of how the aliens were created. seriously from a jaded robot. the facesuckers were pretty much made pointless and my ineffective anymore with the introduction of the pod dust shit that you breath in and boom you spawn an alien. why use them not use them instead of the facesuckers I hate when prequels show technology is more advance then the future. also why did they go on a planet without spacesuits. pretty half ass story telling not scary or interesting.

  • Holden
    Holden 1 month ago

    How was Danny McBride good in this movie? I think people are too willing to give him a pass because he's burdened with shedding his comedy roots and playing a serious role. That says nothing about his actual performance, which was only serviceable. I actually found his character to be irritating as hell.

    The biggest problem with this movie was that the crew had no personality whatsoever. I watched Alien right after I got home from the theatre and was amazed at how quickly that movie could make you warm up to the crew. Without characterization like that, a movie like this will fail, regardless of how many backbursters or engineers you throw in there. That's what every modern take on Alien or Predator can't seem to grasp.

  • The Mendez
    The Mendez 1 month ago

    From my experience, I think you gave the best review I have seen on Youtube. People like Stuckman loved it and forgave its glaring flaws while AngryJoe crucified it and ignored many of its redeeming qualities. I believe your review was fair but well rounded and how the same movie could be so divisive among the same Alien fan base. Great job and thank you.

  • LevelGap Gaming
    LevelGap Gaming 1 month ago

    I'm laughing at these clueless idiots. This movie was complete trash. It's so fucking dumb it surpassed Prometheus for how dumb the plot is. And no we got the aliens created by a rogue android. Fucking Ridley Scott pulling George Lukas there. Don't watch this shit. Vote with your wallet for quality entertainment.

  • d0ughb0y129
    d0ughb0y129 1 month ago

    Yes definitly ties the univers together. looking forward for next one

  • Chris Corley
    Chris Corley 1 month ago

    First two films are still the best, always. COVENANT was sci-fi fun. I really appreciated David's dark reality and experimental madness. The true "ending" was unpredictable -- with those two little treats he made. 😄

  • Rolando G
    Rolando G 1 month ago

    The Covenant Crew was horrified they didn't know what they were dealing with Seriously and Walter is not malfunctioned I think he will get re programmed and go back to normal in the Next film in my opinion find out where David is and finally destroy and this time think and out smart David straight up can't wait for another AI Fassbender to return o hope he does and Fassbender is the best for this movie

  • Ben Autin
    Ben Autin 1 month ago

    honestly when it comes to aliens, there's not much new you can do other than prequels, but I had no issue with it. I enjoyed it.

  • Allan Alberts
    Allan Alberts 1 month ago

    Thought it was awesome. My only problem is they all dumb man lol. Going to start a new colony, you'd think there would be more protocals when visiting any foriegn planet so as not to contaminate the cargo.

  • Paul Leon
    Paul Leon 1 month ago

    Prometheus 8.5/10 Alien: Covenant 6/10

  • AZbadfish
    AZbadfish 1 month ago

    Alien is my second favorite movie of all time, Aliens is my third. I even liked 3 and Resurrection (Winona Ryder gets you a lot of bonus points from me). Prometheus was okay, I enjoyed it for what it was - this movie was a MASSIVE disappointment for me. I don't want to spoil anything, but I will say based on the trailers and reviews similar to this I went in expecting another Alien. It was not even close. I felt it dragged in the beginning trying to redo the same stuff as Prometheus, and when we finally did get what we wanted it felt like not enough.

  • Butter Ras
    Butter Ras 1 month ago

    when christian says happy monday guys... I died lmao

  • Frederick Isaiah
    Frederick Isaiah 1 month ago

    Trailers False Advertised It... People Were Expecting Aliens Killing People, Not Science And Other Shii

  • Darknights23
    Darknights23 1 month ago

    6.7/10

  • godspeedpl
    godspeedpl 1 month ago

    Ridley Scott didn't ruin Alien series. Alien fanboys did. Prometheus was great and had an original back story which could be developed into something extraordinary. But because it was not understood by low IQ alien fanboys it has forced Ridley to change the story and kill the one of the most promising storylines (engineers) hollywood came up with in last few years. Keep being happy with crap movies and awesome CGI. You will ruin the whole scifi scene.

  • lazy Fingers
    lazy Fingers 1 month ago

    WHY WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY the stupid cheap ass CGI (MONSTERS) HOW COME A DAMN MOVIE FROM 30 YEARS AGO LOOKS MORE REAL than this shit WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY Totally took me out of the movie

  • Derrick Nichols
    Derrick Nichols 1 month ago

    with this new version of Alien will they make a alien vs predator mo I more entertaining?

  • zeusbacchushades
    zeusbacchushades 1 month ago

    Oh and by the way...the aliens are barely in this movie and the twist at the end is dumb as hell (you totally see it coming).

  • zeusbacchushades
    zeusbacchushades 1 month ago

    Characters are weak, it's kinda boring, and fuck David! I hated the dick robot in the last movie and he drags this movie down. Let's fire Scott out an airlock and bring back Cameron (a better director and film maker). Sadly this movie is not that good.

  • Will R
    Will R 1 month ago

    film was nonsense. admit it

  • Greene Screen Entertainment

    Great review guys!!..

  • Roger Shew
    Roger Shew 1 month ago

    crap movie I hated it. The crew are dumb, stupid and lame. Absolute rubbish movie wasted my money.

  • KIWI KING
    KIWI KING 1 month ago

    Why is no one talking about James Franco's performance??

  • Brett Baratheon
    Brett Baratheon 1 month ago

    I am blown away by the negative reviews. I am a fan of the Alien franchise and this was SPECTACULAR. So FRIGGEN awesome.

  • Raul Zavala
    Raul Zavala 1 month ago

    I didn't stay till the end but is there a post credit scene?

  • Ken Simmons
    Ken Simmons 1 month ago

    Movie was hot garbage

  • sanderflop
    sanderflop 1 month ago

    Fassbender was the real star of this movie, not Katherine Waterson, not the Alien.

  • MegaLaidback
    MegaLaidback 1 month ago

    The movie was okay, very predictable ending though.

  • KalKenobi83
    KalKenobi83 1 month ago

    Ya Loved How it more remiscent to Aliens than Alien it wasn't a game changer but it was good rock on schomes

  • Stew Hvidston
    Stew Hvidston 1 month ago

    I really liked Prometheus and loved Covenant. I would give it around 8.5 or 9. The character of David is great and the movie looked amazing. I can't really think of any complaints other than typical horror movie stuff like "oh this person was an idiot" but even that was minimum. This blows Alien 3 and 4 out of the water.

  • Angelo Carr
    Angelo Carr 1 month ago

    I guess Dr. Manhattan wasn't strong enough to fend off a face hugger...I enjoyed it very much but I'd be lying if I didn't have some issues with the film, only natural I guess...

    Couple Questions:

    1. Why make it seem like Franco had an actual point in this movie and then kill him off within the first 10 mins of the film?

    2. Why did Daniels not question of whether that was Walter or not? That was a situation too dangerous to assume.

    3. Why wasn't the "Engineers Arc" not touched on more? Considering this was a continuation of the last film it only made sense to answer some of the questions Prometheus raised.

    4. Where are all the xenomorph spawns from the city of engineers David killed off?

  • Tom Moschen
    Tom Moschen 1 month ago

    SPOILERS.

    Really disliked the movie. Lazy and predictable. "I gotta take a pee" was the moment I actually regreted paying to see this shit. Good actors and a horrible script and plot. David was such a good character in Prometheus, both good AND bad, now he is just an asshole evil genius? Awful CGI throughout the whole movie, the best scenes are in the trailers and the short clips. And even the good trailer already spoils some parts of the movie (shower scene), and gives you the idea that the movie would be a lot different. Also the engineers ship was left behind in this new planet and how the hell is it going to land on LV-426 since David escaped on the Covenant ship? How many movies are they going to squeeze to make them all conect to the first one? Honestly, if I knew that Alien Covenant would be that bad, I would not bother watching. And I loved all Alien movies so far, even the bad ones and Prometheus. I hope that Blomkamp makes his "Alien 3" movie and hopefully he makes it a watchable film. Still, it seems to me that its not hard to make a good Alien movie and somehow they fucked up anyway.

  • M Oviegeek
    M Oviegeek 1 month ago

    This movie was a bag of shit.....

  • John Smith
    John Smith 1 month ago

    Schmoes this movie sucks. I only liked Fassbender and Danny McBride. The Aliens look good and of course the cinetopgraphy looks good but that is superficial. The movie is Attack of David. This sucks.

  • Jared Gold
    Jared Gold 1 month ago

    Just saw it. 6/10

  • mrtpmk
    mrtpmk 1 month ago

    save your time and money. movie is 2/10

  • Romero Clay
    Romero Clay 1 month ago

    Dude in the red shirt is basically a zombie for movies that drop before December, if u know what I mean 😩😂

  • Ryan Larsen
    Ryan Larsen 1 month ago

    I thought it was a good movie on its own, but in the context of the series I didn't like it. I thought it did a disservice to Noomi Rapace's character from Prometheus. Prometheus set up the redemption of David and the partnership of Dr. Shaw's character and David and Alien Covenant just shit on it. Also we already had a evil robot in the first Alien. It was a rehash of Alien and Aliens and does nothing to resolve or add to Prometheus or the Alien franchise in a meaningful way.
    Reply

  • thtkidfrmvab
    thtkidfrmvab 1 month ago

    Prometheus > Covenant

  • Will DePaula
    Will DePaula 1 month ago

    Right off the bat: Who goes to a planet they never heard of without a helmet and Space suit, without any form of protection? Is that how space exploration will be done in the future? As soon as Michael Fassbender reappears in the end it was pretty clear that was David, that completely spoiled the twist. And the question "why the big bald dudes from the previous movie hate humans?" will never get answered now. Just because you like certain aspects of the movie it does not make it a good story.

  • Ben M
    Ben M 1 month ago

    I had a lot of issues with this movie! So disappointing!

    I'll give it a 102 out of 100.

  • Ser Winzzalot
    Ser Winzzalot 1 month ago

    Cameron took it to femist action hero land which was pioneering at awsome...Ridley took it to man vs beast vs science philosophical land which is also awsome...I can't wait for him to complete it with the nostromo blasting off

  • qwertz asdfgh
    qwertz asdfgh 1 month ago

    If alien franchise can't do anything new it's ok to just stop.

  • qwertz asdfgh
    qwertz asdfgh 1 month ago

    The 'performance' of James Franco probably has as much impact as most other actors. The characters are empty we don't get to know them. The plot is boring and dumb. So were most of the dialogues and the decisions made by the crew. I give it a 5/10. 'I'll do the fingering'... really?

  • BirdsElopeWithTheSun

    I though the movie was Okay, better than Prometheus, but it still doesn't feel like an Alien film, something just feels weird.
    Alien 3 is a thousand times better than this movie, even Life was a better Alien film than Covenant. The CGI creatures looked fantastic, except for the 2 times the Xenomorph was up close, which looked awful.
    -
    Nobody does anything “quite” as stupid as in Prometheus, but people still wandered off on their own and trusted David to look inside an egg, right after he had just told him that he created these things that just killed one of their crew members... what the fuck are you thinking! I loved the parts from the original score, it gave me chills.
    -
    The scenes with Walter and David were incredible and David is quickly turning into one of the greatest movie villains. At the same time as I hate him, I understand where he's coming from and find his way of thinking to be almost beautiful in a way. Covenant explained everything about him and it makes Prometheus a better movie, as for the rest of the characters... yeah, they were kinda flat and uninteresting.
    -
    I still think Prometheus should never have been connected to Alien universe, not knowing who the space jockeys were, why they were transporting all these eggs, and where the eggs came from, helped make the original -79 movie feel so much more "Alien".

  • Tominus Todd
    Tominus Todd 1 month ago

    go NC! Christopher looks like the kind of dude that has 3 nipples.

  • Marko Đorđević
    Marko Đorđević 1 month ago

    What are you talking about? Did we watch the same movie?
    Terrible! No trace of logic. Are the guys that go to space so damn crazy or what?!!! Terrible, dumb characters. Prometheus might be bad, yet better than this one. Alien and Aliens are movies from different planet.

  • Samuel Velazquez
    Samuel Velazquez 1 month ago

    Bad cast, bad movie... rent it .. 7.0

  • douglasmlinder
    douglasmlinder 1 month ago

    Shaw dies before the movie, david creates the alien

  • Al Barokah
    Al Barokah 1 month ago

    (UNIVERSAL PICTURE) Official
    Alien Covenant Full Movie : https://plus.google.com/104219225468243026931/posts/G2Z3npPytDU

  • Retro Game Room
    Retro Game Room 1 month ago

    geeks

  • MsCankersore
    MsCankersore 1 month ago

    Chris who did your hair transplant?? Phenomal job!

  • Seb Francis
    Seb Francis 1 month ago

    I absolutely loved it! Every time Fassbender was on screen was pure gold, the acting and dialogue etc.

  • Gaza Imp
    Gaza Imp 1 month ago

    Just seen it, and what a shower of sh:t!

    I thought it was awful, and had way too many plot holes!!

  • Alex Dawson
    Alex Dawson 1 month ago

    A good honest review, it is a good Alien movie

  • schubbel
    schubbel 1 month ago

    why only one score?

  • Perry Robitionate
    Perry Robitionate 1 month ago

    My only questions about the film have to do with The Engineers; the rest of it? Concerning the alien itself? Meh. So: 1) Are those Engineers David bombs, and 2) Do we find out ANYTHING about The Engineers?

  • rrcscharpentier
    rrcscharpentier 1 month ago

    Alien movie rankings (for me)

    5. Alien Resurrection
    4. Alien 3
    3. Prometheus
    2. Alien
    1. Aliens

  • Noble
    Noble 1 month ago

    "I'll do the fingering"

  • Skyla 2000
    Skyla 2000 1 month ago

    I'm the same I like Danny McBride but am not an extreme fan off his. But have to say he is my favourite characters in the movie.

  • Ricardo Aguilar
    Ricardo Aguilar 1 month ago

    Ridley Scott is absolutely free to draw the path of his Aliens' mythology, because it's HIS mythology, not ours'. If he decides to create the Engineers, the Deacon xenomorph, the albino deacon xenomorph, it's OK because it is his story. If Scott decides to make David a super villain, it's OK. If he decides to create his own Alien's mythology without hearing anyone's expectations, it's OK. Finally, Nor George Lucas neither Steven Spielberg nor whoever other director do it. On the other hand, if the crew of the Covenant spaceship make several stupid things is because -I guess- Ridley Scott underlines how humans, under pressure, usually make stupid decisions. This can be confirmed in XXth Century spatial historical flaws. Example 1: Why the Apollo 1 crew died during a test? Example 2: Why the Challenger blew up? Example 3: Why the Columbia was disintegrated during its return to Earth? Because there where scientists who made stupid decisions under pressure. Nevertheless, the problem is - I think- that Scott usually builds this stories based on violations of security protocols. I think he could overcome this weakness.

  • organicsuperman
    organicsuperman 1 month ago

    Damn I got excited when you mentioned predators !! If only.

  • thebiggeridiot
    thebiggeridiot 1 month ago

    4:03 ''this is stand Winston's beauty'' ....really? giving H.R Giger's credit to stan? that's really shitty.

  • Thread Bomb
    Thread Bomb 1 month ago

    So the guy who loves Alien movies didn't chip in with an opinion?

  • Cafi rf
    Cafi rf 1 month ago

    It wasn't a good movie. Plot was weak, it wasn't horror neither suspenseful, they tried too much to tell the alien story

  • TheDeadYoshi
    TheDeadYoshi 1 month ago

    You guys saw a different film than I did. I left the cinema so angry after what I saw. For me, Covenant ruins the entire series.

  • Clouded Journey
    Clouded Journey 1 month ago

    soooooo another unnecessary uninteresting reboot/sequel/prequel.

  • blippi blipblop
    blippi blipblop 1 month ago

    most people think that shaw, and katherine waterson are the main of the new alien trilogy. It's david story and how he created the alien big chap.

  • Phillip Scott
    Phillip Scott 1 month ago

    Does anyone buy lootcrates/nerdboxes?
    If you do, then why? You know you're getting screwed, right?

    Me, personally,I loved this movie/trailer/logo/title/announcement.

  • lucky dominguez
    lucky dominguez 1 month ago

    CGI could be better, that´s all, really good movie.

  • THEremiXFACTOR
    THEremiXFACTOR 1 month ago

    Mark, the alien isn't Stan Winston's beauty. Original design credit goes to H R Tiger (Carlo Rambaldi worked on the head mechanics too)

  • Michael Vega
    Michael Vega 1 month ago

    Remember when they would actually watch movies together and review in collaboration?

  • Laura Wilson
    Laura Wilson 1 month ago

    I wish Mark would stop fucking interrupting.

  • Imran Yusuf
    Imran Yusuf 1 month ago

    No respect for Ridley Scott. How bad at your job do you have to be to make garbage like this movie. If you want to create new movies in a franchise you need to create a story that can continue throughout each movie so you actually want to come back next time and not feel like the next movie is simply a rehash of the same alien scares you've seen before. And just saying, yes, I have seen all the other alien movies. This movie answered no questions and actually in terms of the story plots I think it went 2 steps backwards from the efforts made in Prometheus to create a story that can continue into the next movies and be good. It made the Prometheus film worse in this respect because the story is no longer there (or at least inferior). The first two-thirds of the movie felt like it was building up to something greater but nope. Just alien scares that were mostly shown in the trailers already. Big fucking woop. This has been the most disappointing film of the year so far. In saying that, the actors were great. That was thing I could give the movie credit for...

  • Marty McFly
    Marty McFly 1 month ago

    Looks like Kristian woke up and said fuck a shower and a shave, long night?

  • Connor Jones
    Connor Jones 1 month ago

    As a die hard Alien fan I loved this film! It was the perfect balance of the old with the new (Prometheus). If you love Alien you'll love this film and the end will leave you wanting more.

  • Paul Rizzo
    Paul Rizzo 1 month ago

    I like the Mova at the end.

  • Mark Young
    Mark Young 1 month ago

    I dont know if it was just my screen or not, but did anyone else find the lighting too dark? There was bits i could barely make out who/what i was looking at, movie was about 7/10, i'd maybe go up to 8 if it was just better lit

Analyse website