The Dark Tower - Trailer Review

  • Added:  1 month ago
  • The first trailer for The Dark Tower movie is here! Here are my thoughts on it!

    See more videos by Jeremy here: http://www.youtube.com/user/JeremyJahns

    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JeremyJahns

    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns

    Watch the trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjwfqXTebIY&t=22s
  • Video CategoriesEntertainment
  • Runtime: 4:6
  • Tags for this video:  Dark Tower  book 1  the Gunslinger  idris elba  randall Flagg  tower  movie  review  Jeremy Jahns  Awesometacular  

Comments: 1 140

  • Ethan Roo
    Ethan Roo 7 days ago

    If you read the books and are expecting this to be that.... it is not! Seems to me that the studio decided to brand a movie "The Dark Tower" and then rewrite Stephen Kings masterpiece. It is still unclear if this is retelling, continuation, or full rewrite but as for this King fan, I will wait for it to hit VOD and then watch it. This is kinda along the lines of how Avatar used that title and instead of it being about a kid with elemental powers, it turned out to be about a giant blue chick... WTF???? Anyway, if you have not read the book (millennials I am looking at you) because words in a book, or kindle or whatever else you choose to read from is not an idea of a good time then you have not read the Dark Tower series and you will be safe. For those Gen X'ers like me, you will be sorely disappointed with this movie if you spend your money expecting Mid-world as created by King. New is not always bad, but if you are going to make a movie about a book written by a master writer, try to stay on point or as close as you can.

  • Greta M.
    Greta M. 12 days ago

    Jeremy is hot.

  • nydaloth
    nydaloth 21 day ago

    Definitely this movie probably will be an abomination. The trailer doesn't feel or look like the books. It also reveals too much about the dark tower. This is a bad sign. I think they will try to squeeze the whole seven books in one matrix like cinematic piece of flashy junk.

  • rollo316
    rollo316 23 days ago

    I liked the look of the trailer so I started reading the first book. Don't know why but I think William fichtne would be a better man in black. It's Like his character from drive angry the accountant lol

  • Didodi Drive
    Didodi Drive 23 days ago

    "Have you read 'The Dark Tower?" "No." "Uuuggggghhhh!" 😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄

  • Jaycbee024
    Jaycbee024 26 days ago

    "78000 pages"...
    Audiobooks are your friend.
    Thumbs up for dead on McConaughy impression.

  • j0dor
    j0dor 1 month ago

    As someone who has gone through the entire Dark Tower series twice, I gotta say that this movie is going to be the acrion-blockbuster-sparknotes version of about 10% of Stephen King's story. The heart and brains and meat are gone and we are going to see what kind of story the skeleton can show us this August.

  • Shameer Khan
    Shameer Khan 1 month ago

    it actually reminded me of last action hero

  • Phil K
    Phil K 1 month ago

    The Stand and The dark Tower series are fantastic reading.
    Randall Flagg should look like Charle Manson

  • Too Many Lies
    Too Many Lies 1 month ago

    Totally agree about the coming back to Earth thing. Seems pretty early for that to be happening.

  • Nick Abbott
    Nick Abbott 1 month ago

    Looked a bit over Hollywoodified to me. I love the books. Like you say though, might just need to see the whole thing to properly get it!

  • Leon Stone
    Leon Stone 1 month ago

    Okay, just to bring you up to date about a few things:
    1. READ THE FUCKING BOOKS. A lot of stuff you adress makes perfectly sense as soon as you have done so. If you don't want to, here's a quick runthrough:
    2. Never saw that mini series you mentioned (see, I'm more of a books the a movies guy), but yeah, Randall Flag aka The Man in Black aka Martin Broadcloak aka Walter Padick aka Walter o'Dim aka dontknowwhoelse is basically an agent of evil not only in The Dark Tower but throughout a relevant share of Kings universe that takes several names, faces, forms and yes, appearances. Basically, he jumps through the worlds, creating mischief and stuff. Now I agree with you about the "he's worse"-part being cheesy and kind of old (it was not in the books either), but the christian Devil is like, "just" trying to bring down the humans on earth. Trying to annihilate any life on every plain of existence... yup, that's a whole different dimension of evil to me^^
    3. About the "going back to earth"-thing... to be honest, I'm not sure about it yet myself, because it all depends on the execution. Fact is that it was cool as fuck in the books, because Roland finds magical doors to the minds of several people on earth that allow him to manipulate their minds, go into our world or drag people into his. I'm not too happy about them going with the stone-old "boy finds portal"-clichee, just because it takes away a lot of personality from the story, but I really hope they kept that "uber-powerful archaic pistol-knight roaming 90ies USA"-vibe. If they did, it will be rad.

  • Hapsetshut
    Hapsetshut 1 month ago

    All I really remember of the man in black from the book is that he brought a guy back to life by spitting on him then at the very end him an Roland talk around a camp fire then Roland falls asleep wakes up and it's years later and the other guy is bones. I don't think he really has a character he's just suppose to like imposing or something.....oh and um spoilers I guess idk the books been out for over 20yrs

  • Hapsetshut
    Hapsetshut 1 month ago

    Your McConaughy is amazing, you should do voice overs. I'm really curious for this movie cause it looks like they're combining at least the first to books, cause honestly I don't know if today's movie going audience would be able to sit through a true adaptation of the Gunslinger proper. Maybe a series but not a movie

  • marksman303
    marksman303 1 month ago

    I hope the film is better than the books were.

  • Crystal Hickerson
    Crystal Hickerson 1 month ago

    I thought Idris was hot 😎

  • Gary Mike
    Gary Mike 1 month ago

    you should read the dark tower, really it's good

  • FlyingShadow
    FlyingShadow 1 month ago

    I know absolutely nothing about this but I'll give it a chance.

  • Chirpsuke チルプケ

    You know, the Dark Tower was the only story that pulled of the "going to Earth" thing amazingly. That and the Talisman. King is just good at it.

  • Emperor Swagatine
    Emperor Swagatine 1 month ago

    In the books Flagg serves the Crimson King who is essentially the devil. No idea if he'll be in the film though.

  • Flick Freaks
    Flick Freaks 1 month ago

    BEST. MCCONAUGHY. IMPRESSION. EVER... OF ALL TIME.

  • INCUBO175
    INCUBO175 1 month ago

    So? are you reviewing sense 8 or not?

  • Gaming Muscle
    Gaming Muscle 1 month ago

    There's plenty of back and forth from our Earth to Mid-World, don't you worry Jeremy Jahns :)

    The trailer looks like it's mostly based in The Gunslinger. I hope that this isn't the only movoe that's planned because one movie can't possibly make justice to six books.

  • Ambie Mess
    Ambie Mess 1 month ago

    Read the books! or at least a synopsis. Not perfect, but I love them! It explains what happened to his world.

  • George Jones
    George Jones 1 month ago

    It's a sequel to the books it's Roland's next time round

  • Gamezig 138
    Gamezig 138 1 month ago

    This movie is nothing like the books. It looks like a huge turd.

  • Sophia Wilson
    Sophia Wilson 1 month ago

    I have bad feeling about this movie I hope I am wrong.

  • Glori Castillo
    Glori Castillo 1 month ago

    Mathew looks like pitch from rise of the guardians

  • turbakon8
    turbakon8 1 month ago

    Jeremy's impressions never seize to amaze me!

  • lazygamer - new and improved

    By the trailer it is a fail already. Seems like they go for a all in one movie, taking elements for all the books and making a mess of it. Sad world for cinema, I was hoping for a movie series/tv series of DT for a long time but this does not look promising. Our world (amongs others) do appear in the story but later. This is NOT the Gunslinger, this is a cash grab.

    Elba fills the role of Roland ok though as far as I can see. I am curious though. Since a movie was not forthcoming before now I was sort of thinking that they would wait until the movies were done before comitting. But they have been out for a while now, plenty of time to make a series of movies based on each book. Not sure what this is going to be though. Sigh...

  • moviegrapevine
    moviegrapevine 1 month ago

    The movie is bascally going to take parts from book 1, 3 an 4.5 Flagg is also written more muted in The Gunslinger, than he is in The Stand

  • Alex Serrano
    Alex Serrano 1 month ago

    The books were.....fenominal. ...there are no words....I hope the movie does them justice. Don't do this movie cause you can do it because you want to give the fans a movie they deserve.

  • Dylan Kelley
    Dylan Kelley 1 month ago

    Maybe they will do the Riddick thing. The first movie was Pitch Black then it went to Chronicles of Riddick.

  • James Lamprell
    James Lamprell 1 month ago

    The gunslinger is not black.

  • Mitchell Masefield
    Mitchell Masefield 1 month ago

    WHAT WAS THAT MCCONAUGHY IMPRESSION IT WAS SO GOOD

  • Vincent James
    Vincent James 1 month ago

    Wow your impression was really good!!

  • jalvarez1982
    jalvarez1982 1 month ago

    This trailer had me at the watch chime music from "For A Few Dollars More". Looks awesome!

  • Jackie Galarza
    Jackie Galarza 1 month ago

    I think they should have cast someone else instead of Matthew McConaughy, I just don't see him as the type of actor who can pull off any villains role..

  • Bryan Haire
    Bryan Haire 1 month ago

    I laughed hard during this video...

  • Edward Gonser
    Edward Gonser 1 month ago

    In the first book, we don't see much of the man in black. Some very short segments are given from his point of view, Roland and Jake see him a little more than halfway through the book, and Roland and him are together at the last few parts of the book. In the second book, Roland DOES go to earth, but in a different way than presented, and without Jake since (spoilers) he died at the end of the first book (but not permanently). Some new important characters are also supposed to be introduced in the second book, mainly Eddie Dean.

  • Sunset Rider
    Sunset Rider 1 month ago

    Never read the books. Story sounds uninteresting. Looks like a bad sequel to Cowboys & Aliens. Yet another movie with an annoying kid to get in the way. And it ripped off the pocket watch music from Eastwood's "For a Few Dollars More."

    • Han Solo
      Han Solo 1 month ago

      Sunset Rider It didn't rip it off it payed homage to that movie.


  • Enrique Manuel Ramos Galicia

    as a fan of th book series, I think this will be a mess plot wise. The casting seems pretty on point, but the plot? nope. Plus Flagg in the books, all of them, is just an evil jerk, he is not funny nor likeable in any way

  • TheWigsplittaVideos TheWigsplittaVideos

    Jeremy nice impression bro !

  • Bret Sheeley
    Bret Sheeley 1 month ago

    Read the books, saw the trailer. Hated the trailer. It completely missed the tone of the series. It should be something like an old western mixed with Carpenter's The Thing. But this looks like a YA adaptation.

  • Lance Case
    Lance Case 1 month ago

    Nah they can have a full multi-season series / multi-movie franchise based off the name of a first book. Exhibit A: Game of Thrones

  • Mike
    Mike 1 month ago

    yeah, but they have to come to earth. It's the direction the book went. So they kinda had to do it.

  • Mike
    Mike 1 month ago

    1:23 .... perfect McConaughy. Spot on dude... lol

  • BRIAN SNIPES
    BRIAN SNIPES 1 month ago

    His McConaughey impression actually makes me want to watch the trailer again.

  • Quentin Sciascia
    Quentin Sciascia 1 month ago

    Idris is a fucking GOD!

  • RedDecember
    RedDecember 1 month ago

    I looked up the film on Wikipedia not too long ago. It said that while revisiting the plots of Books 1 and 3, it picks up where all seven books (eight if you count _Wind Through the Keyhole_) left off.

  • Rishabh Dixit
    Rishabh Dixit 1 month ago

    please review "BAHUBAALI 2" a foreign language movie from india buts it's a kickass war epic drama.

  • james d
    james d 1 month ago

    People who haven't read the books reaction: seems interesting I might go watch
    Book readers reaction:BLAAAAAACKKKKKK!

  • Zach Jacks
    Zach Jacks 1 month ago

    Walter O'dim and Flagg weren't the same character in the Gunslinger, it was a later retcon that made them the same guy.

  • raw666
    raw666 1 month ago

    I think its going to be very different then it was in the books. For one, the first one was depressing with we see that world end similar to Fallout but with less radiation and somehow being worst with mutated, cybernetic, robotic and supernatural monsters like IT and killer trains roaming the land. But its a world we really explore before Earth is involve and by then the hero loses his trigger fingers so he less of a gunslinger by then. Second was going back to Earth was interesting for they didn't go back to a specific point of time, but different time periods with different characters. Specifically a black woman who lost her legs from the 1960s and a drug addict from the 1980s forced to kick the habit as he got stuck in a world of no drugs. Finally it wasn't a heroic tale but one of survival ultimately so will see what is like but I have a feeling fans will fill it misses the point.

  • The Viewer
    The Viewer 1 month ago

    Me no likey trailer!

  • Jesse Carosi
    Jesse Carosi 1 month ago

    Idris Elba playing a badass gunslinger who can literally catch bullets in midair and load them in the chamber therefore making me have happy memories of both equilibrium and wanted? I'm in...

  • Dennis Stack
    Dennis Stack 1 month ago

    That was a pretty damn good McCoughnahey

  • Leo Stoler
    Leo Stoler 1 month ago

    Am I the only one thinking Last Action Hero

  • mark adams
    mark adams 1 month ago

    Roland is from a version of Earth that's "moved on", its post apocalyptic.

  • easygreasy6
    easygreasy6 1 month ago

    McConaughy is basically playing the same character from the Lincoln commercials...

  • FrankLightheart
    FrankLightheart 1 month ago

    You know the Dark Tower story flips constantly back and fourth between our world and the Gunslingers wasteland.

    ...just sayin' that's probably why it's in the trailer.

  • sa†urday nigh† wris† Δ

    fuckin great mcconaughy impression

  • userunknown203
    userunknown203 1 month ago

    No you're right Jeremy. Flagg in "The Stand" miniseries is/was perfect and this trailer didn't really cut it. Great video though man, I'm glad you talked about "The Stand" though. Very underrated miniseries in my opinion!

  • ricardo mensah
    ricardo mensah 1 month ago

    So you inserted his voice when you impersonated him right?

  • Juan Simón Primera
    Juan Simón Primera 1 month ago

    I totally agree with you Jeremy. I've never read The Dark Tower series, but the moment they came back to earth's dimension, I was wondering why haven't they made a CoN The Lion, The Wtich and The Wardrobe kind of movie, where they stay in that dimension

  • Maria Pomares
    Maria Pomares 1 month ago

    can you you do American gods review?

  • A Godfrey
    A Godfrey 1 month ago

    holy fuck that McConaughey impression

  • Tim Walden
    Tim Walden 1 month ago

    I think a LOT of people have waited decades for this, and most of them will be let down. I won't be wasting my time or my money on this since this is the best they could do.

  • roidjones
    roidjones 1 month ago

    The McConaughy impression, brilliant, LMAO

  • alan mailey
    alan mailey 1 month ago

    You need a life if you do reviews of movie trailers! Slow day at the office eh

  • NightNinjaJay
    NightNinjaJay 1 month ago

    MURRRPPPHHHH. DONT LEAVE MEH MURRRPPHHH.

  • Chris L
    Chris L 1 month ago

    The thing with this movie is it's not just based off of The Gunslinger, it's combining stuff from more than one book, and there's supposed to be a follow-up TV series and possibly another movie, so... best to read the book (or listen, I have the audiobooks on my commute between home and work) so that you don't get lost.

  • Michael Di Filippo
    Michael Di Filippo 1 month ago

    This movie reminds me of Last Action Hero...

  • Sebastian
    Sebastian 1 month ago

    Now out of curiosity, are the gunslinger's guns magical or something?

  • ALEJANDRO ANGEL
    ALEJANDRO ANGEL 1 month ago

    the dark tower name fits , cause the main lead is black

  • chad melton
    chad melton 1 month ago

    Awesome impression lol I wasn't looking at my screen when I heard it and I thought it was apart of the trailer for a second lol

  • Twan Duvigneau
    Twan Duvigneau 1 month ago

    Jeremy are you gonna review The Lost city of Z????

  • Kai Graw
    Kai Graw 1 month ago

    I just read the Stand and did not see the mini series. So I think Matthew McConaughey could make a great Flagg :)

  • Captain Entertainment

    I don't think this movie will be bad because of my heart. I think this movie will be bad because of my brain

  • Zombiepull
    Zombiepull 1 month ago

    what you dont know Jeremy is the fact that the part of the books where Roland enters our world... its just the best part of the books

  • AngryCrawdad
    AngryCrawdad 1 month ago

    "This kid is having visions of a tower"... "so he goes through this portal"..

    All we need is a "The arcana is the means by which all is revealed" line and you've got Persona 3 the movie.

  • Zymz
    Zymz 1 month ago

    Well, visiting earth happens multiple times in the series, but it was a different era each time... so maybe they'll save money on this by him drawing of the three all in modern times earth?

  • Christian Smith
    Christian Smith 1 month ago

    Still not forgiven you for that Guardians review

  • Diamond Snake
    Diamond Snake 1 month ago

    Count how many times Idris Elba shooting, or aiming at something in this trailer.

  • midnightmagnifito
    midnightmagnifito 1 month ago

    Ok, I actually hated the gun loading stuff and it was hilarious. I'm not sure an uncontrollable burst of laughter was what the film is aiming for at such a "cool" shot, but yeah, I hated the CGI bullets.

  • CaptureCut HD
    CaptureCut HD 1 month ago

    The trailer gives me hope it will be a darker version of the last action hero. That being said this has almost NOTHING but key people and a single key area from the dark tower book series in play here. The trailer and the entire premise just spits in your face if you loved and wanted the book to be properly adapted onto film.

  • Roberto Garibay
    Roberto Garibay 1 month ago

    on a side I would love to to see collaboration with Stephen King and Clive Barker

  • Roberto Garibay
    Roberto Garibay 1 month ago

    the this film is not a adaptation it's a continuation to the series well at least that's what Stephen King said

  • Jarret Stief
    Jarret Stief 1 month ago

    love your impresssion Matthew McConaughey

  • borno bno
    borno bno 1 month ago

    coming back to earth...
    yeah, Idk.

  • James Borders Jr
    James Borders Jr 1 month ago

    The movie is a sequel to the books.

  • leonthesleepy
    leonthesleepy 1 month ago

    DO MORE IMPRESSIONS

  • Dave Alden
    Dave Alden 1 month ago

    Jeremy Prepare for mind blown moment. Man in Black is Richard Fannin. Richard Fannin is known by different names in different worlds. Man in Black IS Randall Flagg! Stephen King does this thing. Any bad guy with the initials RF, is the same guy.

  • Joe M
    Joe M 1 month ago

    The Man in Black isn't Flagg. Flagg is the Crimson King who Walter Padick aka The Man in Black serves as emissary for.

    • Joe M
      Joe M 1 month ago

      Only because King later ret-conned the series to say that Walter and Randall are the same person. Originally they were separate people.


    • G0atboy
      G0atboy 1 month ago

      Nope, Flagg is the Man in the Black


  • SirTyJensen
    SirTyJensen 1 month ago

    The Dark Tower looks good, I only read the first book. Jeremy's impression was good.

  • Aidan Owen-Jones
    Aidan Owen-Jones 1 month ago

    Wait a minute, are you saying that Mathew McConaughy is...the man in black?

    Oh god I'm getting Lost flashbacks!

  • Noize
    Noize 1 month ago

    I could take him.

  • Aiden Wood
    Aiden Wood 1 month ago

    Did anyone else get a Lords Movile ad?

  • LukeBailey182
    LukeBailey182 1 month ago

    I knew he was going to say he'd never read the Dark Tower series.

Analyse website